Posted by: zwergenzwirn | 13.05.2012

Scrap cardi

Hi everyone,

here it is, my second cardi for myself this year.

I bought some Lang Yarns MerinoSeta in antique pink, offwhite and dark brown, that was way less expensive than it used to be. Only problem was, I hadn’t enough of one colour for a whole cardi. I thought about it for a year or so (no, I don’t feel it’s useless to buy yarn to stock and think about it later!) and had this idea for this cardi, as the colours were working together quite nicely, at least I thought so. Then I started to look out for a pattern for a cardi with a yoke, needlesize 3.5-4mm and settled for this one. Not that I had alot to choose from, to be honest. What is it with yoke and this needlesize, I thought? Now I know: ENDLESS stockinette knitting. Forever. The pattern is not much of a pattern really, but more of an advise. In the beginning, I didn’t get it at all but refused to let go after hours and hours of work and a million lose ends.I was halfway done with the bodice but then had to admit that it just wasn’t fitting. At all. The math was killing me. Not to talk about the million loose ends that would make a million little balls of yarn. I did it anyway.

As you can see, I’m generous with pics of this thing, for I’m so madly in love with it!

OK, so for the ones of you not afraid of going on in stockinette forever and not willing to figure it out for yourselfs: here’s what I did!
For a European size 38-40:
gauge 10x10cm: 22 stitches, 32 rows. I am a rather tight knitter.
Increased to 272 stitches, continued yoke in random stripe pattern in garter stitch for 18 cm, continued in brown, stockinette stitch for another 2cm. Made 2 buttonholes in yoke.
Diveded 45 front, 46 for one arm on holder, 90 for back, 46 for other arm on holder, 45 for other front.
Knit 45 of front, pick up 20, knit 90 of back, pick up 20, knit 45 of other front. Continue in stockinette, make third buttonhole.  Continue to desired length, always ending and beginning by 5 stitches knit,purl, knit, purl, knit so that ends are not rolling in, continue to desired length, adding garter stitch finish in desired length, bind off.
Arm: Pick up 46 st on holder, pick up 5, pick up 20 from underarm-piece (from body)and place sm in the middle (after 10), pick up 5, close to the round (76 st). Next round: of the 5 stitches you picked up, knit 2 together on both (74 st). Continue in st st. until desired length. I always try it on while I go. For cuff, take your 3 colours, change randomly, and go back and forth in st st, not knitting in the round any longer. the sm is the end/beginning. Continue to desired length and bo.
Next arm: same as first.
Weave in all 236.744 loose ends. Add buttons. Done.

If I may say so myself, the result was worth it. I’m in love with it. I’m wearing it all the time. The yarn is so incredibly soft. And light. It’s a bit fiddly to knit with, but I like it. What do you think should I do now with quite some leftovers in antique pink and off with and a bit of dark brown? I thought about doing the same again, this time with antique pink as main colour. As now I have my pattern. But I’m not out of my crazy mind and doing it again. So if you have any pattern suggestions, let me now!

Have a nice evening,

S.

Responses

  1. Very lovely!…..You could make a matching one for Sophie?!

  2. Thank you for following me. I think this sweater is so gorgeous. Like if it were mine I’d want to wear it everyday! I keep telling myself that someday I MUST learn to knit. It looks like your blog will help keep me inspired to that end until I’m actually able to carve out the time to do so. :-)

    • Thank you. I really love it with all my heart, the wool is so soft and light and warm and comfy. And after all the making, ribbing etc… You could knit! It’s not such a big deal. And especially this cardi ist quite easy to make. No special stuff required. You could do it. Try for a scarf before and then you’re ready. The Sylvi is a little more advanced, though.

  3. beautiful!! what a nice job!! :)


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

