Posted by: zwergenzwirn | 16.10.2011

Very hungry caterpillar party!

Hi everyone,

I know, long time no see, but now I’m back with the birthday party of my big girl, who turned three years this week. Subject of the party, as you might have guessed: the very hungry caterpillar. If you are following me for a while, you might know I’m a little obsessed with this lovely book and use it for every second inspiration.

OK, so for the invitations:

Here’s the envelope that goes with the invitation:

So then, let’s move on to the table. Here’s the (paper)plate for every kid, that I decorated with some M&Ms. I glued the M&Ms on the plate with some frosting:

My model’s place with her candle:

We had some muffins:

And of course a caterpillar-kind-of-cake:

Well, and a butterfly-kind-of-cake:

Ans we had some fruit according to the book, so the kids ate something else, not only sweets. They finished nearly all the fruit!!!

After “la grande bouffe”, we had something really out of the ordinary. I wanted a puppet play from the book. I thought it would be easy for the kids of this age group to follow, as everyone knows it. My mother-in-law charged herself with it, I only did the curtains. This is what it looked like. Isn’t that amazing???

The kids were speachless. Really. Waht a success. After this lovely play, we had a little kind of game. The kids we getting in a sack, playing caterpillar while crawling on the ground.

On the other side of the room, the kids got rid of the sack and put on a pair of butterfly wings. They then came back making butterfly movements.

Once they made it, they got a little treat.

These were sewn up in a couple of hours.

Content:

I scetched the pictures of the book, best husband ever scanned them and printed everything. I then sew right through the middle to keep the colouring book together. Along goes some colouring pens and a “necklace”. This was done using shrinking plastic. LOVE IT!

So, that’s it for today. I have another goody to share (matching hat and cowl to go along). I’ll show you some time this week.

Have a nice week,

S.

Responses

  1. Thank you for this awesome party!!!! We had a good time!!!

  2. Thank you so much that you came and for the lovely present! My model had the best time ever. She’s still so excited!

  3. I think you now qualify for best mom ever!!

  4. Wow… thats dedication! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

